Welcome To Jobs-R-Us, May I Take Your Order?


Not a real store logo, but it could happen. Imagine a future where you have to pay for getting a job, instead of just applying for one! Scary!

If you wanted something so badly, how far would you go? How much time and effort would you be willing to put into getting the object of your desire? What lines that define your pride and your personal system of ethics would you move — if not erase — to get it?

Would money be no object for you?

I ask these questions because I came across a Toronto Sun article about an Ontario man, Geoff Crane, who is willing to pay 25 thousand dollars (Canadian) to get a job in his chosen field.

I would never resort to buying a job, though I’m not faulting Geoff for his method of choice to find work. I have sympathy for his situation for many reasons. He’s around my age, has an information technology background, and like myself has found it hard to find a job. I can’t damn him for whatever he needs to do to get work. In his own words, ” it’s just awful out there”. Indeed it is!

Having said this, the notion of having to buy a job bothers me. I feel employment should be earned, not bought. In addition, the plan he has in place to pay the person who finds him the job has some risks. What happens if he quits the new job for perfectly legitimate reasons or is offered a new job he really likes? Does the job-finder still get his or her money? What happens if Geoff turns down one offer for another? Will he be sued for not providing payment for services rendered? I can see a few legal issues coming out of this sort of business arrangement, if one can even call it business.

Then again, maybe it is business. Perhaps this means, in the future, jobs will become a consumer product like a steak at the grocery store or the electronic gizmo at the big-name electronics store. I find that unsettling. In fact, I find all of this very frightening.

Is Geoff’s story the shape of things to come for the employment scene? Instead of having the qualifications to hold a job, does this mean you also need to be able to afford a job? Not everyone has 25 thousand dollars. I know I don’t. Does this mean those who can’t afford a job do not get to work and become homeless?

If a shortage of jobs is what is forcing some people to consider buying employment, we should address what is causing this shortage in the first place. As I wrote in the Comments section of this story at the Toronto Sun web site, “Government, business leaders, and social services need to work together to find solutions to this problem (of unemployment) so job seekers like Crane don’t have to resort to take drastic steps like this…”, otherwise we have a future of employment where the term “working class” will be synonymous with “rich”.

Thanks for reading!

David

Leave a Reply

