A Cut Too Close To Home


hotel_icon_barber_source_clkr
Image obtained at Clker.com. Full copyrights and ownership belong to the original author of this image. This image is being used strictly for display purposes.

I have an interview coming up (December 18th, 2012) for an entry level position at an insurance company, so I decided to get a hair trim to look my best for the interview (as I always do). I was in need of a new barber, however, since the place where I used to get my hair trimmed closed suddenly without warning (not even a going-out-of-business sign).

A friend of mine suggested a place, not far where I lived, that handles his hair styling, so after I took down the name and address of the place, I took the bus down to see if a stylist had time to see me. While it was not too busy, the music being played was a bit loud. The place looked like something out of a fashion magazine with neon lights and garishly colored chairs that reminded me of a container accidentally melted in a microwave. It was at that point I realized that my good friend, who is a very successful marketing manager, would go to a place like this to keep his fashionably trendy coiffure in order to present a winning image to his clients.

I’m different. As you can tell by my portrait, I have a pretty simple appearance. I’m a “Deeds Speak” person. I care more about the quality of work I delivered than how fashionably trendy I appeared at work.

One of the stylists, a young woman who looked around the mid-twenties mark, noticed me as I was reviewing the hair styling charges on the wall. I smiled politely and said I was here for a trim. She curtly told me that she had to shampoo my hair first before trimming. Since I already shampooed my hair before leaving home, I told her, again being polite, that I just needed a trim and already shampooed. In a somewhat petulant tone, she responded that she does not cut people’s hair without shampooing first.

I was already pressed for time, and I did not want to get caught in the afternoon rush-hour traffic. As a matter of principle, I also did not want to spend money on something I did not need, let alone have any reason to be done. I already shampooed, I don’t need a second shampoo. I don’t know why I said this to her, perhaps out of exasperation on trying to get my hair trimmed before my interview tomorrow, but I told her I was not working so I did not want to spend money on something I did not need. I wasn’t rude to her, I just said it to her as a matter-of-fact. Her response was “That’s not my problem”.

Technically she’s right. It’s not her problem, it’s my problem. But it was an inappropriate and somewhat insensitive response towards me both as a customer and as an unemployed person trying to make ends meet as best he can. While the comment stung, I didn’t get angry, but instead politely wished her a good day before walking out.

So here I am, on my way back home, still unhappy with the treatment I received from the stylist, the time wasted going down there, and without getting my hair trimmed. Had I not noticed another hair stylist shop near one of the stops, I wouldn’t have stepped off the bus and got that trim. While I’m all ready for my interview, I’m still left pondering why a stylist with poor customer service skills is working while someone like me who has better manners is unemployed despite his best efforts to find work.

Thanks for reading!

David

Leave a Reply

