Boldly Go


One more look around.
One more look around the apartment before leaving. Photo taken by David Gay.

(note: this was originally written on November 9th at around 6:30 a.m., but I was unable to post until my spare room was set up and my computer was unpacked. Sorry for the delay)

So: it’s finally here.

If you’ve been following my blog since September 24th 2013, you will remember I announced I was moving to Kitchener, Ontario to stay with my sister and brother-in-law because I cannot find a job here in Toronto.

That was over a month ago. After hiring someone to remove my carpet and dispose of old electronics, removing the wallpaper, phoning my various accounts (credit, phone, Internet, etc.) to either cancel or change my address, and cleaning up my apartment to make it look presentable to the superintendent (which is tougher than it sounds if you lived there for 24 years and you have regular wear and tear all around!), I’m finished. Welcome to November 9th 2013, and I’m standing in my apartment living room watching the sky get brighter (see picture), while waiting for my sister, brother and brother-in-law to help me load my belongings into a truck bound for my new home and hopefully where my next job will come from.

How do I feel at this point?  My back and shoulders ache. I have callouses on my toes from all the running around I had to do. I’ve lost 6 pounds and currently at 139 pounds (too…low….). I have a scar on my ring finger on my left hand from where a carpet nail punctured both my protective glove and the joint on my digit. And that’s just the physiological damage report. The psychological report is not much better.

I haven’t been sleeping too well for three weeks. While I was able to have a desktop computer set up at my sister’s place, I had to give up a lot of things…Facebook, Tumblr, some games I play, and Skype with some close friends I know on the MSN network. This may seem like a trivial whine to some of you but cyberspace has been a big part of my psyche since I ran a bulletin board in the 90s. On top of that, it also means I cannot keep up to speed on new Internet trends which could play a role in being hired. Saying good bye to my closest friends that I’ve known for half my life has nearly totalled me emotionally. I’m nearly out of money now but enough at least to pay for any emergency dental work or replace a pair of broken glasses.

I knew the decision to move was going to be tough. I also knew it was the right thing to do. I just did not know how tough it was going to be, or how enduring it was going to be. Every day I woke up I had to deal with losing a bit of my life as I understood it. Some parts were easy, some were very painful. I’m not ashamed to admit this, I probably cried more in October than I ever had in my life, even that time when my father passed away. This is half my life I’m writing off. All for a chance to get a job, which even there is not a guarantee I will get. Where my job search is concerned, I could pretty much be stuck in neutral in Kitchener like I was in Toronto. To make things interesting, I have no social network in Kitchener so I will have to find ways to rebuild it, assuming I figure where half the resources are without sounding like a big-city twit every time I ask someone for directions.

The only thing that is keeping my nose to the grindstone is a list of points that tell me why the move is the right thing to do. Here’s what I am able to come up with.

Toronto is finished. Not finished as in Detroit City finished, but it’s going to go the way New York city went before that city smartened itself up and got with the civic program it implemented to clean up its act. Gridlock. Crime. Unemployment. Political correctness and special interest funding bordering on the “spending like a drunken sailor” stupidity. One buffoon of a mayor who can’t keep himself out of trouble and a council whose members seem to think it is more important to grandstand for the sake of political gain — just in case someone wants to run for the mayor’s job — than to do the job we the electors of Toronto asked them to do through our vote. As I remarked on a few Toronto Sun comment boards, it looks like I’m getting out just in time before “Toronto the Good God It’s Gone Stupid” implodes. No CEO of a business in his or her right mind would dare consider moving to Toronto.

I have no idea when I am going to get a job. And if I am truly going to be stuck in job search neutral, it’s at least in a place where my family will not only catch me when I fall, they will also kick my backside to get back at it again.

I’m in a new city where people do not know me. While that works against me because no one knows what I am able to do when I put my mind to things, both professionally in my career and personally as a friend, it’s in a way good to know no one of Kitchener has heard of the thankfully few gaffes that have left me quite embarrassed and wishing I could die. We call this a clean slate.

I’m also going to eat a lot better. I can’t cook but my brother-in-law is one exemplary cook.

Kitchener, under the wisdom of it’s city and region of Waterloo council (yes, I did type that with a straight face)  at least has some sort of civic plan working in it’s favour, most notably the transit expansion. Compare that to Toronto (see above point previously mentioned). Businesses seem to want to come here and invest. Compare that to  — wait, never mind. I already mentioned that before. Kitchener at least is headed somewhere and maybe my own fortunes will follow in kind.

While I don’t know Kitchener as well as I do Toronto, at least my attempts to find a job and rebuild my job search war machine here will make exploring the unfamiliar less intimidating. It could actually be fun.

Sharing this list with you has helped my mood somewhat. Having said that, I would give anything to get more than just a few hours of sleep. I’ll keep you posted.

Thanks for reading.

David

Update: 2013-11-15: Happy to report I can resume with Facebook, but I recreated it to look more professional. The profile picture I had on there was hardly that.

2 thoughts on “Boldly Go

  1. Thought I’d check in after months and months of inactivity on WP, and you’re my first stop. Sorry to read that you’re still looking, but glad to see that you’re starting a new chapter.

    Wishing you the best in Kitchener… a fresh outlook in a fresh location. Head up, resumes out, onward & upward!

    TUJA

    1. Hi TUJA

      It’s good to hear from you again. Your contributions and insight through your blog have been greatly missed. How is the job so far?

      I just came back from an employment assistance centre in Kitchener after registering there. My biggest challenge according to my new contact is my complete lack of a social network. Yes, I have references in Toronto but all the people who know where the jobs are in Toronto. I need to meet new people who know the businesses here, especially those who are hiring.

      Thanks again for your comments and hope to hear from you again.

      David

Leave a Reply

