McMigrant


Is the reason why Mcdonald's favours Filipinos over Canadian workers truly because the former work harder, or is it because they are easily exploitable? (image and linked story is property of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation)
Is the reason why Mcdonald’s favours Filipinos over Canadian workers truly because the former work harder, or is it because they are easily exploitable? (image and linked story is property of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation)

Unemployment in Canada, as of this post writing, is still stubbornly high, with what few jobs being created mostly part-time work. I’ve done a few part-time jobs since moving to Kitchener, so I can pay my cell-phone bill and keep my good interview clothes clean. But if the following report by the CBC is true, I may find getting part-time work in the future more of a challenge, as this could be a harbinger of bad things to come for job-hunters.

The report tells of three McDonald’s locations in Victoria, British Columbia favouring Filipino immigrants recently arrived over Canadian workers in both hiring and availability of shifts. The report also mentions some of these Filipino workers are being paid more per hour for the same type of work done by Canadian staff. As a result of these allegations, the Canadian government has suspended all work permits for more immigrant workers slated to work at these locations pending an investigation.

According to one of the Canadian McDonald’s staff workers who complained about the practice, “They (the store management) told me that they were more reliable because they wouldn’t show up late and they work harder. They do work hard — I can’t argue against that.”. That may be true, but the same can also be said of Canadian job-seekers who are looking for work. I for example work hard at any temporary job I feel I can do, despite my past background as an information technology professional. I’ve shovelled snow for money, delivered flyers to homes, helped a company move from one city to another, and so on. I’ll admit there were some gigs and temporary jobs I did not take, but it was not because I was lazy but because I knew I couldn’t do the job properly for whatever reason. For those jobs I did take, I gave it my all and made sure it was done right.

Perhaps it’s not about how hard these immigrants work, but how easily they can be exploited. Ever since Canadian businesses have started taking advantage of the various free trade agreements signed by Canada, Canadian workers have seen their jobs farmed out to foreign workers who receive a lower standard of wage earning and are not protected by the many employment laws that we have here in this country. What we are seeing now is a twist in the trend where we ship in workers who work hard not out of pride but out of fear of losing a chance to get out of an impoverish lifestyle.

After all, if someone put a gun to my head in order to make me do something, I would certainly work harder at ensuring it’s successful completion, right?

Thanks for reading!

David

 

Leave a Reply

