For The Thirty Nine Percent


This was pretty much my reaction to reading the Workpolis article about nearly 40% of unemployed Canadians giving up looking for work. Picture by David Gay with permission to use freely provided credit is given to the author
This was pretty much my reaction to reading the Workpolis article about nearly 40% of unemployed Canadians giving up looking for work. Picture by David Gay with permission to use freely provided credit is given to the author

In a previous post, I mentioned a Workopolis article that reported nearly half of unemployed Canadians were giving up looking for work. While I’ve always been up front and out there in my opinion that the recovery is not as rosy as the so-called career coaches and employment experts think, even I was in a state of shock after reading it. Before you continue reading this post, please first read what I’ve linked.

Think about it. Nearly 40% of unemployed Canadians are so despondent and without hope that they will find a job, they have surrendered, given up. They are willing to fall through the cracks leading to destitution, financial ruin, and perhaps even homelessness because they see no way of getting themselves back to work. If this image of the plight of the unemployed does not move you or disturb you, you either do not have a heart, or do not understand how bad things really are out there like I do.

I hate reading reports like this, being in the state of employment limbo I’m in right now, but to be honest I’ve been looking for this gem to repeatedly whack over the heads of the ignorant. I’ve had to put with a few people (even some who are friends or family) who simply don’t get why I’m having trouble finding a job. I am in this state because the economy is so bad the unemployed are giving up looking for work in droves. Not a handful of people, 39% of unemployed Canadians.

Not only does this prove the employment situation is really bad, it also shows the advice given about selling yourself like a product, 30 second elevator speeches, signing up for volunteer work, and seeking assistance from employment centres is worthless. The situation we are in right now is so bad that sage advice and confidence building exercises is not enough to fix the problem.

So what’s the solution? If I could wave a wand and banish this hellish situation to limbo, I would, but I know it’s going to take a lot more than that to turn things around.

The economy has to be stimulated to encourage corporate growth and investment in Canada, thus creating more jobs. Government, captains of business and the education and employment services must work closer together to deal with this crisis before it becomes unfixable. I know I’ve said that past line before, lots of times, but this time it’s going to cost us a generation of prosperity if we don’t show the 39% we care, and don’t want to lose them.

We have to do something. Now.

Thanks for reading!

David

Leave a Reply

