Lest We Forget


The Poppy I'm wearing today. Are you wearing one too? Photo taken by David Alan Gay with permission to use provided credit is given to the author.
The Poppy I’m wearing today. Are you wearing one too? Photo taken by David Alan Gay with permission to use provided credit is given to the author.

I started this blog on March 2012, and have written 103 posts (not including this one). I’ve wrote about the high and low moments of my job search. I brought up the financial and emotional costs of being out of work for so long. I’ve offered suggestions on how to get every Canadian back to work and generating tax (boo!) revenue to pay for our social programs. I chastised all three levels of government and Corporate Canada for not doing their part to help reduce the high level of unemployment in Canada.

I wrote about a lot of things, because I have the freedom to do so, under the following paragraph of the Canadian Charter Of Rights And Freedoms:

2. Everyone has the following fundamental freedoms:

(b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication

This freedom does not come from my level of articulation, my educational background, or the fact I always seem to have an an opinion about something. It doesn’t come from the amazing software and hardware geniuses that brought forth both WordPress and the Internet. It comes from something bigger, something wonderful that we in Canada and in the rest of the Western world are lucky to have, yet seem to take for granted.

It’s a product of the democratic society we citizens all worked together to create, from the politicians we voted in (and like to complain about) to the average Joe’s and Jane’s like you and I who are just trying to get by in this Age of Austerity and the jobless recovery. The vanguards who ensure that this society stands today are the men and women who have served, are currently serving, and will serve in the military.

Today is November 11th, Remembrance Day In Canada, and we should be grateful for those brave men and women who fought for the freedoms we enjoy. For us, they sacrificed a life of normalcy, gave pain and tears, flesh and bone, sometimes their very life, by answering a call to arms. They are doing so right now, as part of a multinational coalition fighting the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), the most dangerous form of fascism since the Second World War.

Because of them, we can walk around without persecution, regardless of the color of our skin, the faith we follow, the opinions we hold and, like what I do on this blog, can express unfettered.

They are heroes, one and all, and I thank every one of them today for my rights and freedoms. You should too.

Lest We Forget.

David.

Leave a Reply

