More For Less


One example of a job opening that demands more than what the title means and a product of the “We Must Do More With Less” era.

I’ve stated often that it’s an employer’s market only to be told by a few I’m full of it. While I respect everyone’s right to their opinion, those who say that haven’t walked in my shoes over the past few years, nor have they come across examples such as this gem (click on image).

This is an advertisement for a dishwasher job I found during my job search. Call me wrong if you like, but to me a “dishwasher” is someone who washes dishes. That’s it. Not wash and peel vegetables. Not clean and sanitize the entire kitchen. Not unpack and store food. Not take out the trash.

The post-2008 recession years have seen a rise of consolidation and compression of responsibilities where the job title no longer matches the duties expected. This “dishwasher” position is a result of that consolidation. It probably meant those who only washed dishes before the 2008 recession, but I suspect the layoff of staff that followed tacked a few extra tasks to the description. I guess I’ll never know, since my inquiry to the company about this position remains unanswered as of this post date.

Look, I understand businesses have to watch their bottom line in this Age of Austerity and the jobless recovery, since consumers are being frugal in their spending. The least they could do, though, is change the title of the position to match the duties. Unless, of course, it’s so employers can respond when an employee asks for a raise: “You want a raise? For a dishwasher job? You must be out of your mind!”

Thanks for reading!

David.

5 thoughts on “More For Less

  1. Seasons Greetings David,

    I meant to comment on your previous post , but been lately rather busy with employment related workshops, orientations and an enrollment process into an employment program. This is all in conjunction with some usual Christmas errands; although they are few in my case 😉

    Nonetheless, LOL! …; It is definitely an employer’s market. I don’t see how it can be viewed otherwise.

    Any job-seeker out there can blatantly see it; thus why employers of almost every posted job position have so many candidates with various levels of experience and skill sets to cherry pick nowadays and have for some time. Furthermore, I want to add that people who make comments about such things or pitch names at job seekers / unemployed i.e. lazy , alcoholic, scroungers …or whatever are probably employed and have not done any job seeking in the market within the last couple of years. And thus have little experience to warrant narrow minded opinions or branding job seekers with their derogatory labels.

    Therefore those types of comments, opinions, labels and so forth are not noteworthy.

    BTW, I like your > ” Conversation closed ” < for shutting down conversations that incite drama or unwarranted negative discussions, name calling and whatnot troll behavior.

    Now, in regards to the job title no longer accurately describing the position, I agree and likewise unfortunately see this plenty out in the job market. It's another example of "its an employer's market syndrome." 😀 Employer's fundamentally give the impression they can ask for a mansion of skills and offer you peanuts in return. And of course they'll expect quality job performance from you if you are the lucky lottery ticket winner … lol! Jumbo thanks you for the peanut; NOT! Anyway yeah, really laughable, if it wasn't so shameful.

    Heck, I've seen similar warped behavior for "unpaid internships" ( another new way to exploit the desperate / vulnerable unemployed job seeker ).

    But I concur, perhaps the least employers can do is change the title of the position to match the duties.

    Anyhow David, I hope the Christmas holidays finds you comfortable and warm and from one Job seeker & fellow Torontonian to another, I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year my friend.

    In Solidarity,
    Ed

    1. Hi Ed. I hope the orientations and workshops were productive for you and helpful as well.

      Thanks for the comments and your insight. It’s always welcome and your analysis of the job situation and poverty issues this past year have been welcome reading.

      Hopefully the employer of that Indeed ad that I contacted will change the title. If not, well, it’s their business. I just call it as I see it.

      I appreciate your help this past year, particularly the suggestions about keeping float. They were valuable and got me through some tough patches. I won’t forget that ever. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

