Such A Creep, Revisited.


black_and_decker_fs1300cs_loaded
An applicant for a Red Lobster dish washing position must ensure customers have a clean plate to eat off of, and be Tim The Toolman as well! (image from Wikimedia Commons: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Black_and_Decker_FS1300CS_loaded.jpg?uselang=en-gb

Before I begin, I just received a notification from WordPress that I’ve been a member for five years. I want to take a moment to thank the people of WordPress for offering a free, stable and well-designed platform to allow me to publicly promote my job search which has been running for longer than that.

The fact that I have been out of full time work for so long is galling but not surprising when I have to deal with job openings like this that ask for the most unreasonable qualifications.  This is not an example of an exceptionally rare case. This is quite common. Throughout my time on WordPress I have posted 5 such examples, my “favourite” being the warehouse position one where you are required to know how to play a musical instrument.  I’ve heard of whistling while you work, but strumming while you strive? Preposterous.

Positions like this are the result of credential creep and downsizing, a point I’ve raised many times during my stay on WordPress over the last five years. When I hear employers bitch and moan about how hard it is to find the right person for the job, I want to tell them to look at their hiring requirements and ask themselves, “is this asking too much?”. In most cases, it is. In the linked advertisement, while most people can wash dishes, not everyone can safely handle a power tool, nor are able to lift 50 pounds on a regular basis due to a past work injury, are physically challenged, or simply put not built to lift 50 pounds on a regular basis.

Look, I believe employers have the right to set whatever requirements they want for hiring. It’s their business and their right. If that’s the path they want to take, though, they can’t claim a position of authority to condemn those who do not live up to such unrealistic demands. Not everyone is Superman (errr and Superwoman) but there’s a lot of Clark Kent types out there who are honest, ethical and hard working. How about giving them a chance to at least make sure customers have a clean plate to eat off of, and worry about the shelves and counters some other time?

Thanks for reading!

David.

Leave a Reply

